A Leper at Peace.

On His way to Jerusalem, as Jesus walked through a village, a group of ten lepers spoke to him from a distance. They raised their voices saying, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us.” Jesus healed them then and there-all ten of them. One of them, just one, turned around (as the excited men all scattered) and praised God loudly. He kneeled before Jesus and thanked him with strong words.

Jesus’ response to this was to ask, “Were not ten cleansed? Where are the nine? Was no one found to return and give thanks to God except this (man)? Rise and go your way, your faith has made you well.”

{Luke 17:11-19, paraphrase}

I want God to heal me. I want my struggle to be over. I want to be able to do all the things that nameless adventurers, heroic sojourners, and my friends  and family do. If only Jesus would reach down His sweet hand and work a miracle on me. I have lifted my voice to Him, as the lepers did, and now I want an answer. More than anything right now, I would love to hear the words: Rise. Your faith has made you well.

Jesus knows this. He knows my pain, He knows far worse. Most importantly, God the three-in-one knows how much I can handle. He has not, and will not desert me. He is as real as the pain that I now feel.

Whatever His plan is; whether I can walk pain-free tomorrow, or never walk again, I want to be the last leper. I want that thankful heart. I must strive to always come back with a grateful soul, pledging life-long service to my gracious Master.

I have handed my dreams, my life, my fears over to Him.

Peace, even in this, is mine.

Could you love this bastard child, though I don’t trust you to provide? -Derek Webb

2 thoughts on “A Leper at Peace.

Leave a Reply

