Sink

God doesn’t need me. Yet He beckons,

calling His dear one,

bidding empowerment by His Spirit.

Good soldiers fought for me,

my heart insists now that I take a stand for others

because I have asked that His dreams swell mine.

Submerge your hands into the mud

where my children wait.

My Lord does not need my help,

He chooses to let me participate

simply because I am willing.

He sits me down with beggars and outcasts.

He puts me in the path of fatherless children,

watching me glow as they reciprocate the love

I pour like water into the bowls of their lives.

He sets me at a picnic table in the sun,

the voice of a tomorrow that has yellow curtains

and people who bring casseroles instead of cuts.

The girl with bruises and 21 year burdens

considers robing herself in Truth,

thinking with tilted head about questions

He places on my tongue like starlight mints.

11-12 Friends, this world is not your home, so don’t make yourselves cozy in it. Don’t indulge your ego at the expense of your soul. Live an exemplary life among the natives so that your actions will refute their prejudices. Then they’ll be won over to God’s side and be there to join in the celebration when he arrives.~1 Peter 2:12 (MSG)

Sink your ridged fingers into the work He has for you.

May troubled souls free-fall into the greatness of who He is.

But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise, God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong.~1 Corinthians 1:27

Leave a Reply

